News Releases

The Administrative Office of the Illinois Courts announced the following certified list of candidates who have applied for the associate judge vacancy in the 17th Circuit based on the impending retirement of Associate Judge Joseph J. Bruce:

Erin B. Buhl  Richard M. Butera   Jessica A. Cushard
David M. Gill    Roger H. Gustafson Erin C. Hannigan
Erik K. Jacobs Joseph B. Kosek    Maureen M. Lawson    
Lise M. Lombardo  John J. Palmer  Amy K. Peterman   
Todd A. Ramlow Scott P. Robinson Derrick J. Schmidt  
Andrew T. Smith    Kelly A. Vecchio     Paul R. Vella    
Tamika R. Walker    Timothy K. Whitham Jeffrey J. Zucchi

The Circuit Judges of the 17th Circuit are inviting written comment regarding these candidates from all interested individuals and organizations.   Comments must be in writing and received by the Chief Judge no later than 5:00 p.m. on December 23, 2021. Anonymous letters will not be accepted. Letters will be placed in each of the candidate’s files. There shall be no other direct or indirect contact with any Circuit or Associate Judge regarding an individual’s candidacy.

Anyone wishing to comment should direct their correspondence by U.S. mail to Chief Judge Eugene G. Doherty, Winnebago County Courthouse, 400 West State Street, Suite 215, Rockford, IL 61101 or by email to This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it..

PDF of Press Release


Coming to Court

Virtual Court

Self Rep

Records Search and Payments

Local Rules


400 W State St
Rockford, IL 61101